Billy and Me, by Mrs. Fletcher

So, before I start tearing her book apart, I have to tell you that I’ve been a fan of her’s and her husband for years, and when I heard that she will Billy and Mepublish a book I did everything I could to get my hands on one copy. At first I wanted to buy it as an e-book, but obviously it isn’t available in my country (Romania) so I had to buy it in paper from a site that makes deliveries world wide.

Truth is, I paid more than I would normally pay for a book, considering the fact that I have the habit of reading two books in a week, given the free time to do so.

My expectetions were high, honestly. Following her through time made me think that her first book would be about vampires, werewolves, fairies, angels, magic squirells or everything else out of ordinary. But no, in her first book she chooses to write about an plain love story.

I wrote plain because at the end of the book, it’s still just a love story. I read it and at every page turned my hopes were that something amazing would happen with the characters, and that Billy, Sophie, Molly or someone else would turn out to be some dragon, or wandigo (go watch Supernatural if you want to know what that is), or a demon. I was itching for something like that. Too bad  that I thought Sophie May’s secret would be something more than it was.

I am not going to give you any spoilers, just go on and read the book yourself and don’t be a lazy arse.

The best thing about her book is that is easy to read and that it stays down to Earth, as is perfectly possible for someone to go throught what Sophie goes throught. It’s perfectly fine to read it from cover to cover in just one day, and you wouldn’t even feel tired, as the subject is simple and in everyone’s comfort zone.

I won’t lie and say that I didn’t like it, I enjoied it just like every book I read, but I’m not crazy about it. As for the price, let’s just say that I would have normally thought twice before buying a book just about romance if it weren’t for the fact that is written by Mrs. Fletcher.

What I absolutely hate about it is that on the back cover, where there’s a few words about the author just like on every book, the first sentence is „Actress and journalist, Giovanna is married to Tom Fletcher from McFly.” Really? Couldn’t they find something else that describes her and her writing abilities other than whom she is married to? Because if they could, a thing I am certain that could have been done, and they still didn’t do it, then I am dissapointed that she defines herself throught whom her husband is.

And, on another note, here’s a cover that the Fletchers made.

Lasă un răspuns

